2nd Grade Good Reads

The Haunted Library book cover

The Haunted Library
Dori Hillestad Butler

When his haunt is torn down and he is separated from his ghost family, Kaz befriends human Claire, who has the ability to see ghosts, and helps her investigate a haunting at the local library.
Reserve Book
Lola Levine is NOT Mean! book cover

Lola Levine is NOT Mean!
Monica Brown

Second-grader Lola has a wonderful family, a great teacher, and the best friend ever, Josh, and they all help her feel better after she is teased and forbidden to play team sports at recess for having accidentally hurt classmate Juan during a soccer game.
Reserve Book
Ivy & Bean book cover

Ivy & Bean
Annie Barrows

When seven-year-old Bean plays a mean trick on her sister, she finds unexpected support for her antics from Ivy, the new neighbor, who is less boring than Bean first suspected.
Reserve Book
Flat Stanley at Bat book cover

Flat Stanley at Bat
Lori Haskins Houran

Flat Stanley finds himself trying out for the baseball team and outwitting the best players until the fairness of his "flat-vantage" is called into question.
Reserve Book
Nate the Great book cover

Nate the Great
Marjorie Weinman Sharmat

Nate the Great has a new case! His friend has lost a picture. She wants Nate to help her find it. Nate the Great must get all the facts, ask the right questions, and narrow the list of suspects so he can solve the mystery.
Reserve Book
Henry & Mudge book cover

Henry & Mudge
Cynthia Rylant

Henry, feeling lonely on a street without any other children, finds companionship and love in a big dog named Mudge.
Reserve Book
How to CODE a Sandcastle book cover

How to CODE a Sandcastle
Josh Funk

Pearl and her trusty rust-proof robot, Pascal, need to build a sandcastle before summer vacation is over, and they're going to do it using code.
Reserve Book
Poppleton Everyday book cover

Poppleton Everyday
Cynthia Rylant

Three easy-to-read tales are in this charming new addition to the series, which features Poppleton as he goes stargazing, buys a bed, and sails.
Reserve Book
The True Story of the Three Little Pigs book cover

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs
Jon Scieszka

A. Wolf is sticking to his story: he was framed. He was just trying to borrow a cup of sugar to make his poor old granny a birthday cake. Who should you believe, the pigs or the wolf?
Reserve Book
Lunch Lady & the Cyborg Substitute book cover

Lunch Lady & the Cyborg Substitute
Jarrett J. Krosoczka

The school lunch lady is a secret crime fighter who uncovers an evil plot to replace all the popular teachers with robots.
Reserve Book
Rosie Revere, Engineer book cover

Rosie Revere, Engineer
Andrea Beaty

This is the story of Rosie Revere, who dreamed of becoming a great engineer, but must first conquer her fear of failure.
Reserve Book
Goldilocks & the Three Dinosaurs book cover

Goldilocks & the Three Dinosaurs
Mo Willems

This favorite book presents the wacky story of three dinosaurs, including a visitor from Norway, who insist that they have not tidied up their home and prepared yummy pudding to trap a tasty little girl.
Reserve Book
Frog & Toad Together book cover

Frog & Toad Together
Arnold Lobel

Five adventures of the two best friends as they share cookies, plant a garden, lose a list, test their bravery, and share a dream.
Reserve Book
Fox & His Friends book cover

Fox & His Friends
Edward Marshall

In three separate stories, Fox wants to play with his friends, but duty, in one form or another, always interferes.
Reserve Book
Make Way for Ducklings book cover

Make Way for Ducklings
Robert McCloskey

Mr. and Mrs. Mallard search for the perfect place in Boston to hatch their ducklings. Once they do, Mrs. Mallard teaches them how to swim, dive and walk in a straight row through the busy city streets.
Reserve Book
Duck for President book cover

Duck for President
Doreen Cronin

Here is a duck who began in a humble pond. Who worked his way to farmer. To governor. And now, perhaps, to the highest office in the land.
Reserve Book