4th Grade Good Reads

Shiloh book cover

Shiloh
Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

A Newberry Award-winning classic, Marty finds a lost beagle and tries to hide it from his family and the dog's real owner, a mean-spirited man known to shoot deer out of season and to mistreat his dogs.
Reserve Book
The Lemonade War book cover

The Lemonade War
Jacqueline Davies

Evan Treski is good at talking with people, even grownups. His younger sister, Jessie, is math-smart - but not especially good at understanding people. So when their lemonade war begins, there really is no telling who will win - and even more important, if their fight will ever end.
Reserve Book
The Wild Robot book cover

The Wild Robot
Peter Brown

Roz the robot discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island with no memory of where she is from or why she is there, and her only hope of survival is to try to learn about her new environment from the island's hostile inhabitants.
Reserve Book
Bud, Not Buddy book cover

Bud, Not Buddy
Christopher Paul Curtis

Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan, during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father - the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway.
Reserve Book
Fourth Grade Rats book cover

Fourth Grade Rats
Jerry Spinelli

Fourth graders are tough. They aren't afraid of spiders. They say no to their moms, and they never, ever cry. Can Suds's friend Joey teach him to toughen up...or will Suds remain a fourth grade wimp?
Reserve Book
Esperanza Rising book cover

Esperanza Rising
Pam Muñoz Ryan

Esperanza and her mother are forced to leave their life of wealth and privilege in Mexico to go work in the labor camps of Southern California, where they must adapt to the harsh circumstances facing Mexican farm workers on the eve of the Great Depression.
Reserve Book
Mrs. Frisby & the Rats of NIMH book cover

Mrs. Frisby & the Rats of NIMH
Robert C. O'Brien

Mrs. Frisby, a widowed mouse with 4 small children, must move her family or face almost certain death. But her youngest son is ill and must not be moved. Fortunately, she meets the rats of NIMH, who come up with a solution to her dilemma.
Reserve Book
Sarah, Plain & Tall book cover

Sarah, Plain & Tall
Patricia MacLachlan

When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay.
Reserve Book
Front Desk book cover

Front Desk
Kelly Yang

Mia’s parents manage a motel that hides immigrants, unbeknownst to the unkind motel owner. An inspiring character, Mia’s efforts to improve her English, become a writer, and do good will resonate with kids.
Reserve Book
Rump book cover

Rump
Liesl Shurtliff

In a kingdom where your name is your destiny, Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold.
Reserve Book
The Parker Inheritance book cover

The Parker Inheritance
Varian Johnson

Candice finds the letter that sent her grandmother on a treasure hunt and got her fired. With the help of her new friend, Brandon, she sets out to find the inheritance, exonerate her grandmother, and expose an injustice once committed against an African American family in Lambert., SC.
Reserve Book
A Wolf Called Wander book cover

A Wolf Called Wander
Rosanne Parry

A young wolf cub, separated from his pack, journeys 1000 miles across the Pacific Northwest, dealing with forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before finding a new home. Based on the true story of a wolf called OR-7.
Reserve Book
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing book cover

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing
Judy Blume

Living with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing smashed potatoes on walls, or scribbling all over Peter's homework, he's never far from trouble.
Reserve Book
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon book cover

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
Grace Lin

Minli, an adventurous girl from a poor village, buys a magical goldfish, and then joins a dragon who cannot fly on a quest to find the Old Man of the Moon in hopes of bringing life to Fruitless Mountain and freshness to Jade River.
Reserve Book
The Indian in the Cupboard book cover

The Indian in the Cupboard
Lynne Reid Banks

On his 9th birthday, Omri receives a cupboard that magically brings his 3 in. toy Indian Little Bear to life. They bond, embarking on an amazing adventure, until his friend Patrick brings a cowboy to life and the secret is in danger of being revealed.
Reserve Book
Because of Winn-Dixie book cover

Because of Winn-Dixie
Kate DiCamillo

Ten-year-old India Opal Buloni describes her first summer in the town of Naomi, Florida, and all the good things that happen to her because of her big ugly dog, Winn-Dixie.
Reserve Book