6th & 7th Grade Good Reads

Other Words for Home book cover

Other Words for Home
Jasmine Warga

Sent with her mother to a relative's home in Cincinnati when her Syrian hometown is overshadowed by violence, Jude worries for the family members who were left behind as she adjusts to a new life with unexpected surprises.
Reserve Book
Wolf Hollow book cover

Wolf Hollow
Lauren Wolk

Twelve-year-old Annabelle must learn to stand up for what's right in the face of a manipulative and violent new bully who targets people Annabelle cares about, including a homeless World War I veteran.
Reserve Book
Invisible Emmie book cover

Invisible Emmie
Terri Libenson

This is the story of two totally different girls - quiet, shy, artistic Emmie and popular, outgoing, athletic Katie - and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands.
Reserve Book
The Girl Who Drank the Moon book cover

The Girl Who Drank the Moon
Kelly Barnhill

In this New York Times bestselling epic fantasy, a young girl raised by a witch, a swamp monster, and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon must unlock the dangerous magic buried deep inside.
Reserve Book
A Wolf Called Wander book cover

A Wolf Called Wander
Rosanne Parry

A young wolf cub, separated from his pack, journeys 1000 miles across the Pacific Northwest, dealing with forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before finding a new home.
Reserve Book
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow book cover

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow
Jessica Townsend

A cursed child destined to die on her eleventh birthday is rescued and whisked away to a secret realm called Nevermoor and given the chance to compete for a place in a prestigious organization called the Wundrous Society.
Reserve Book
The Wild Robot book cover

The Wild Robot
Peter Brown

Roz the robot discovers that she is alone on a remote, wild island with no memory of where she is from or why she is there, and her only hope of survival is to try to learn about her new environment from the island's hostile inhabitants.
Reserve Book
Aru Shah & the End of Time book cover

Aru Shah & the End of Time
Roshani Chokshi

Twelve-year-old Aru stretches the truth to fit in at her private school, but when she is dared to prove an ancient lamp is cursed, she inadvertently frees an ancient demon.
Reserve Book
Dactyl Hill Squad book cover

Dactyl Hill Squad
Daniel José Older

Magdalys Roca and her fellow orphans ride dinosaurs and solve mysteries in Civil War-era New York City.
Reserve Book
Tight book cover

Tight
Torrey Maldonado

After his quick-tempered father gets in a fight and is sent back to jail, sixth-grader Bryan, known for being quiet and thoughtful, snaps and follows new friend Mike into trouble.
Reserve Book
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus book cover

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus
Dusti Bowling

New friends and a mystery help Aden, thirteen, adjust to middle school and life at a dying western theme park in a new state, where her being born armless presents many challenges.
Reserve Book
Ghost book cover

Ghost
Jason Reynolds

Ghost, a naturally talented runner and troublemaker, is recruited for an elite middle school track team. He must stay on track, literally and figuratively, to reach his full potential.
Reserve Book
New Kid book cover

New Kid
Jerry Craft

New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.
Reserve Book
Wonder book cover

Wonder
R.J. Palacio

Auggie Pullman, who was born with facial abnormalities, goes from being home-schooled to entering fifth grade at a private middle school in Manhattan, which means enduring the taunting of his classmates as he struggles to be seen as just another student.
Reserve Book
Roller Girl book cover

Roller Girl
Victoria Jamieson

A graphic novel adventure about a girl who discovers roller derby right as she and her best friend are growing apart.
Reserve Book
Song for a Whale book cover

Song for a Whale
Lynne Kelly

Twelve-year-old Iris and her grandmother, both deaf, drive from Texas to Alaska armed with Iris's plan to help Blue-55, a whale unable to communicate with other whales.
Reserve Book